top of page

Open burning is restricted


Warm temperatures and dry conditions mean increased wildfire risk, so the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources will restrict open burning in the following counties effective immediately: Douglas, Grant, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Aitkin, Becker, Cass, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Mahnomen, Otter Tail and Wadena.

The state will not issue burning permits for brush or yard waste in these counties until restrictions are lifted.

“Escaped debris burns are the number one cause of wildfires, so that’s why we issue these restrictions,” said Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor. “They really work—we’ve reduced wildfires by nearly a third since we started spring burning restrictions in 2001.”

McCoy encourages residents to use alternatives to burning, such as composting, chipping, or taking brush to a collection site. For information on how to compost yard debris, visit the DNR’s guide to composting yard debris.

People who burn debris will be held financially responsible if their fire escapes and burns other property.

Burning restrictions will be adjusted, including extension of restrictions to additional counties, as conditions change. For information and daily updates on current fire risk and open burning restrictions, visit the Minnesota DNR website.

Click Here to Continue Reading


bottom of page