BHVPP Raiders qualify 6 for the State Tournament: Orlando going for his 3rd consecutive championship

(Stats are below)

by Coach Michael Arvidson

Last Saturday was a beautiful day to be outside, but an even better day to spend in the gym as the Section 6A Individual Tournament unfolded in Wadena. After claiming the team championship the week before, it was time to see how many individuals we could send to the show.

The opening round started on the right foot for BHVPP as we posted a 9–5 round. David Revering, Deagen Captain and Reese Thompson made quick work of their opponents to claim spots in the semifinals. A little while later, Jason Koehn joined them.

Skip a few weights and the fun began again as Mason Schroeder, Hunter Dean, Gideon Ervasti, Jaden Finck and Craig Orlando all pinned their way into the semifinals.

Aiden Larson, Justin Koehn, Matt Mensinger, Brock Peterson, and Tyler Eggert found themselves on the back side of the bracket. Larson won and Mensinger bowed out as we had four remaining in the consolation semifinals prior to the semifinal round.

There is no such thing as a perfect round, but a 7–2 semifinal round is pretty good as it started off great with Revering and Captain securing their spot in the finals. Thompson dropped a decision and Jason advanced with a major decision. On the top end, Schroeder, Ervasti, Finck and Orlando glued their opponents as Dean lost a decision advancing half the team to the championship bout.

The consolation semifinals kept hope alive for three of the six in the wrestle-backs as Larson, Thompson and Dean picked up victories. Justin Koehn dropped his final match of the day to settle for sixth place as Peterson and Eggert secured pin falls to finish fifth.

The championship round had 10 Raiders competing for the right to go to State. Revering locked down his spot on the podium with a first period fall as he’ll take the #8 seed entering the state tournament. Captain followed suit with a five-point assassin in the first period to win 5–2, also securing the #8 seed this next weekend.

Larson had a rematch of his opening round defeat and just couldn’t complete the comeback as he settled for fourth. Thompson also grabbed fourth placed with a two-point defeat to his State advancing opponent.

Blood time got the best of Jason as he had his opponent locked up tight in the cradle before he sprung a leak, caught his breath and came back to defeat Jason. Luckily the back door was closed during the blood time and Jason will make a return trip to the X.

Schroeder came up short against the #1 State ranked wrestler in the finals, but the back door was closed by his semifinal opponent and he’ll make his first trip to State this weekend. Both Jason and Mason are unseeded and drew the five seed in the opening round.

Dean got caught in a flurry and put away ending up in fourth place. Ervasti was on the other end of the flurry as he placed both shoulders of his opponent to the mat for his first Section Championship and second State appearance claiming the #7 seed when the whistle blows on Friday.

Finck dropped a 3–1 decision to the #3 ranked wrestler and the back door remained open setting him up for a true second match 45 minutes later.

Prior to the true second round top ranked, two-time defending State Champion Orlando remained on the pursuit of a perfect season as he won a hard-fought 1–0 decision to advance to 43–0 on the year taking the top seed at the show for the second year in a row.

Six guys secured with a possibility of one more, but the cards were not in our hand as Finck battled, dropping a late match decision turning his silver into bronze.

Overall, it was a great day inside and out. Six individual State qualifiers with thirteen of our fourteen wrestlers on the podium. For now, we’ll set our sights on the team side as #2 ranked ACGC is waiting for us at 9 a.m. on Thursday. Waiting in the wings is either a rematch from December with Royalton/Upsala or a rematch from the opening round of state last year with Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/Westbrook-Walnut Grove.

Consolation semifinals are slated for 11 a.m. and semifinals are 1 p.m. The placement matches are at 5 p.m. with the State Finals scheduled for 7 p.m. The individuals will take the stage starting Friday at 9 a.m. with it all concluding Saturday evening.

We’d love to see you there, but if you need to cheer from a far you can watch on free of charge as they will cover all eight mats for all three days.

Click here to view and order your favorite photos!

Section 6A Individual Tournament

106-David Revering

Fall Aidan Winter (SM) :31

Dec. Coley Sykora (BW) 10-4

Fall Hunter Gruchow (WCAABE) 1:35

David placed 1st

113-Deagen Captain

Tech Fall Jason Trantina (SM) 2:08; 17-1

Dec. Ayden Hauck (BAR) 7-4

Dec. Eli Larson (BW) 5-2

Deagen placed 1st

120-Aiden Larson

Maj. Dec. by Patrick Forcier (BW) 11-3

Fall Rafael Caudillo (SM) :57

Dec. Solomon Wales (WCAABE) 3-0

Dec. by Patrick Forcier (BW) 3-2

Aiden placed 4th

126-Reese Thompson

Fall Ashton Danner (WCAABE) 1:35

Dec. by Mason Snyder (WDC) 7-1

Maj. Dec. Tommy Thach (PR) 16-4

Dec. by Brien Poser (OTC) 10-8

Reese placed 4th

132-Justin Koehn

Dec. by Carter Johnson (PR) 5-3

Fall by Derrik Wegscheid (NYM) :23

Dec. by Dierk Goeden (WCAABE) 12-5

Justin placed 6th

138-Jason Koehn

Tech Fall Koby Endres (WDC) 4:25;15-0

Maj. Dec. Sebastian Centeno (PR) 16-4

Dec. by Anthony Sykora (WCAABE) 6-4

Jason placed 2nd

145-Matt Mensinger

Fall by Jacob Adelman (BW) 1:36

Fall by Connor Dirks (WDC) :54

Matt did not place

152-Brock Peterson

Maj. Dec. by Logan Small (NYM) 20-12

Maj. Dec. by Matt Hendricks (OTC) 11-0

Fall Logan Small (NYM) 3:05

Brock placed 5th

160-Mason Schroeder

Fall Bret Duncan (WCAABE) 1:20

Fall Bren Salo (NYM) 3:23

Fall by Owen Bjerga (SM) 1:09

Mason placed 2nd

170-Hunter Dean

Fall Tristan Evavold (OTC) 3:34

Dec. by Nathaniel Kisgen (WCAABE) 5-1

Fall Jon Rinerson (NYM) 5:14

Fall by John Ziebell (PR) 2:52

Hunter placed 4th

182-Gideon Ervasti

Fall Braxton Saewert (NYM) 1:07

Fall Colton Lindquist (WCAABE) 3:29

Fall Brady Kroll (BAR) 4:09

Gideon placed 1st

195-Tyler Eggert

Dec. by Deklin Goeden (WCAABE) 8-5

Dec. by Micheal Dennis (BW) 10-4

Fall Emmitt Winkels (SM) 4:44

Tyler placed 5th

220-Jaden Finck

Fall Braeden Peterson (NYM) 1:50

Fall Isaac Ebnet (BW) 1:05

Dec. by Daniel Erlandson (BRK) 3-1

Dec. by Devin Stone (WCAABE) 9-4

Jaden placed 3rd

285-Craig Orlando

Fall Tim Wells (BAR) :26

Fall Jacob Willits (PR) :35

Dec. Cian Buehler (OTC) 1-0

Craig placed 1st

Click here to subscribe to get the latest news about your favorite teams . . . .

Click here to view and order your favorite photos!


Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square