The BHVPP Raiders are Section 6A Champions: Advance to the semi-finals in the State Tournament

Updated: Mar 17

by Michael Arvidson

An incredible week of “March matness” started on Thursday as BHVPP hosted the top half of the Section 6A bracket in Bertha.

The opening round paired us with Barnesville and the Raiders got rolling after dropping the first match. David Revering and Evan Jares accepted forfeits. Aiden Larson knocked off the #8 ranked kid in the final seconds. Holden Truax glued his opponent. Reese Thompson picked up the decision. Justin Koehn and Tyler Eggert earned falls sandwiching forfeits from Brock Peterson, Mason Schroeder, and Hunter Dean for the huge lead. We dropped 195 in front of a pin by Gideon Ervasti over his ranked opponent and James Grant finished it off with a fall for the 66–12 victory over the Trojans.

The semifinal round opponent was Pelican Rapids and the guys kept doing their job. Justin Olson opened with a hard-fought decision. Revering, Deagen Captain, and Thompson secured falls and Larson a forfeit for the 27–0 lead. The Raiders grabbed another forfeit at 145 for Abby Ervasti. Brock Peterson put his opponent's shoulders down. Dean took a forfeit and the top put it away with a pin from Gideon Ervasti and forfeits for Grant and Hayden Captain moving BHVPP to their third consecutive Section 6A title match with a 63–13 route on top of the Vikings.

Saturday saw some of the best wrestling you can pack into one gym. Under the new COVID format for this year, mat 1 featured #6 West Central Area/Ashby/Brandon-Evansville versus #5 Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale/Parkers Prairie for the Section 6A Championship and mat two featured #2 Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa versus #1 Long Prairie-Grey Eagle/Browerville for the Section 5A Championship. The winners would battle it out for a spot in the State Semifinals. . .

Click here to subscribe and get the rest of the story . . .

Search By Tags

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square